Ms Cheryl Diane Parkinson

Writer

Me and My Dragon.

3 Comments

Well, it may sound crazy, but I have a dragon. His name is Draco – means dragon… I think. But he’s mine, and I definitely have one. He breathes fire, and his breath absolutely reeks! It stinks mostly of raw rotting meat. He needs a giant toothbrush to brush those razors – I’m looking into it.  

He does have a bit of a temper – swears a lot, like dragons do. Turns the air blue sometimes! Which can be really funny to see as he is a bright emerald green! He is very beautiful so it’s rather colourful when he’s cross!

He lives… well… that’s kind of hard to explain. Draco lives under my bed, in my house, in my bedroom and makes quite a mess I can tell you! Does my mum mind? Well, here’s more magical stuff. She doesn’t actually see him. No-one does but me. Which is kind of good I suppose because it means he can go anywhere and do anything and it’s all fine!

The best bit about having a dragon? Is that no-one thinks there is such things as dragons, but I know of course, that there is. And the best thing, the truly best thing is when we decide to go for a ride. He will let me climb on his back and then he just leaps out of my bedroom window and we take off into the skies! It’s fantastic! The best feeling in the world is flying high above the clouds where no-one can get to you. Just you and your dragon. The sun is brilliant up there… did you know?

So what do we do? Me and my dragon? We escape mostly. Life can be tough you know. Especially in today’s modern world. It’s not like how it was in the olden days… oh no! Back then, kids just had simple games to play with, out in the street when bombs whizzed past your head. Yes, there was a war on, but kids could be kids… that’s what I’ve heard anyway. These days, there’s computers and mobile phones and technology and stuff like that which makes things harder. Much, much harder. Mum said they are ‘sexualising the young’ whatever that means. I think she means stuff like high heels and lip glosses and nice bags and stuff. I can’t see what is wrong with all that. I quite like bags – they can be very useful. Especially when you need to carry a lot of stuff when going away for a while. Rucksacks can be very handy when you are riding your dragon. They hang onto your back, while you hang onto your dragon. But, you probably haven’t got one have you? I would say you could borrow mine… but well, you can’t. Dragons don’t work like that. They are extremely rare, and like to attach themselves to individuals of their own accord.

Mine came to me when I needed him most- when they were fighting. When I thought my life was in danger, when there was no-one else to save me, Draco came along, grabbed me by the scruff of my neck, whipped me onto his neck and burst me out of there like a bullet!  

Glass smashed everywhere from the window he burst me out of making an awful mess! I was hiding in my room upstairs and they were coming to get me! I could hear their footsteps pounding angrily on the stairs – they are always angry these days. But I wasn’t scared when the dragon arrived. He looked at me. His eyes as big as saucers were glittering a magical blue – inviting me to jump on, and I did. I didn’t look back because I knew. He smashed the furniture out of the way, his jaws roaring as he did so, making an awful racket that made my heart sing with happiness. And we burst out of there!

I never looked back. I knew that looking back would be like a betrayal to my dragon and he would leave. No, never look back, only onward and upwards… up up up into the blue sky… and the beyond – it’s the only way to fly!

Author: Ms Cheryl Diane Parkinson

The silent opinionated songstress...( who doesn't really sing any more!) A cat-loving, vegan creative writer and teacher. I paint pictures with language, paints and pencils. I write about anything that inspires me, from teenage fiction to children's stories. From serious articles to poetry. Currently seeing the ever elusive literary agent. Been known to occasionally perform poetry.

3 thoughts on “Me and My Dragon.

  1. What happened next?
    I was just getting into that.
    Pure talent Cheryl our dynamic author.

  2. Very Talented way for words 😁

Leave a Reply

